COABE Awards Program

Click here to view a copy of the 2014 COABE Awards Program.


The following awards were presented at the 2014 COABE PAACE Conference in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Outstanding Administrator of the Year
• Rick Cunningham

Outstanding Adult Learner of the Year
• Jake Walthall

Outstanding Teacher of the Year
• Nancy Alvarado

Promoting Literacy Nationally and Internationally
• Silja Kallenbach

Partner in Adult Learning Service
• Marion Goodwill


Incentive Grant and Scholarship Award Honorees for 2014

Scholarship Recipients

• Jeri Dixon
• Jennie Kelly
• Maria Lawson-Davenport
• Elizabeth Johnson

Incentive Grants Winners
• Dean Miller
• Rebecca Wagner
• Linda Nelson
• Jaye Jones

Incentive Grant Completers
• Vicki McDonald
• Lorena Lasky
• Kristin Perry
• Patsy Vinogradov

National Institute for Literacy Winner

• Deborah Anderson

2014 Partner in Excellence Award

• Jackie Taylor

Award Recipients Receive:

• $1,650 financial award (includes transportation and hotel accommodations).

• Recognition at the annual COABE national conference during the awards banquet.

Successful Nominators Recieive:

• Complimentary conference registration for the annual COABE national conference where the award is presented.


Incentive Grants

Incentive Grant Recipients Receive:

• $1,500 financial award.

• $750 travel stipend to present on project at the annual COABE national conference.



Scholarship Recipients Receive:

• $2,000 financial award.


Download the COABE App

The Commission on Adult Basic Education (COABE) is 15,000 members strong and growing! Check out our free app for the latest conference and members only news and developments.


Membership Information

For questions about membership contact:

Michelle Chiles, Coordinator
Fax: 866-941-5129
Phone: 888-44-COABE

Follow us on:

facebook twitter img img















2014 National Level Award Winners


Description of COABE Awards

The Adult Learner of the Year Award is provided to a learner who has demonstrated leadership within the formal or non-traditional learning environments.  This award is given to a student who has overcome difficult circumstances to pursue adult learning, who has supported other adult learners, and who has managed significant adult responsibilities such as those related to employment, family or community.

The Outstanding Teacher of the Year, Edgar M. Easley Award is provided to a practitioner with five or more years of adult education teaching experience that participates in school and community activities.  This award is given to an individual who understands the characteristics of the adult learner and who is committed to the adult/continuing education profession.

The Adult Basic Education Administrator of the Year Award is awarded to an adult education administrator with five or more years of experience who has made an outstanding contribution toward fostering the concept of education as a continuing life-process. The awardee must demonstrate a contribution to adult education at the community, state, and/or national levels.

The Partners in Adult Learning Services (PALS) Award honors an individual or organization that is not employed in the field of education, but that has made an outstanding contribution to adult basic education/literacy as a community leader at the local state, regional, and/or national level.  Contributions may be in one of several areas such as: legislative/public policy, leadership, instruction/tutoring, innovative services, initiating cooperative interagency activity, school/community/business partnerships or advisory committees.

The Outstanding Workplace of the Year, Chester Klevins Award honors an institution which has developed an outstanding workplace literacy program serving a local community, state/province, region and/or nation, has provided programming for more than three years, has developed customized services/curriculum at varied workplace settings, and who can provide evidence from employers that the program has met their objectives.

The Promoting Literacy Nationally and Internationally, Kenneth J. Mattran Award honors an individual who has a distinguished record of achievement in promoting literacy at the national or international level.


COABE Incentive Grants

COABE provides incentive grants which support activities or projects in the field of adult basic education through the secondary level.  The best practices gained by the incentive grant winners will be archived in an online repository as a resource for the literacy field. The overall purposes of the grants are to promote:

• Field-based, practitioner-developed activities for student/faculty growth
• Program improvement through enhanced curriculum, instruction, assessment, counseling, student services, research/evaluation, or community involvement

Projects that are considered for support may include, but are not limited to, the following:

• In-house video production for orientation, staff development, instructional scenarios
• Mentor teacher or peer coaching training/implementation
• Development and dissemination of innovative instructional materials/techniques, including distance learning activities
• Assessment and evaluation procedures
• Small research projects such as student follow-up studies, classroom research on effective instructional techniques, effect of child care service on attendance, etc.
• Cross cultural training
• Systematic evaluation and training for innovative use of software for specific purposes
• Enhanced guidance activities, student services, student handbooks
• Expanded recruitment/retention strategies
• Development and implementation of student needs assessment
• Development of instructor resources such as handbooks, supplementary materials, abstracted bibliographies or materials evaluation and selection for professional libraries, developing/collecting and cataloging a realia library
• Networking/community linkages


COABE Scholarships

Scholarships from COABE fund, or partially fund, college level courses of study that will advance the professional standing of COABE practitioners.  Examples of scholarships include employees or volunteers in the field of adult basic education earning a degree or a state certificate/credential; obtaining an ESL certificate; teacher/counselor obtaining counselor/administrative credential; earning an advanced degree in adult education.

COABE Awards, Incentive Grants, and Scholarship Archives

Click here to view the COABE award honorees for 2013

Click here to view the COABE award honorees for 2012

Click here to view the COABE award honorees for 2011

Special thanks to Dollar General for its financial support in sponsoring the COABE awards, incentive grants, and scholarship program!